By continuing to use our site, you consent to the processing of cookies, user data (location information, type and version of the OS, the type and version of the browser, the type of device and the resolution of its screen, the source of where the user came from, from which site or for what advertisement, language OS and Browser, which pages are opened and to which buttons the user presses, ip-address) for the purpose of site functioning, retargeting and statistical surveys and reviews. 

The Languages Canada Annual Conference is a meeting place for our member programs - public, private, French and English - and Canadian and international education partners and stakeholders to connect, share, learn, and collaborate on pertinent issues impacting Canada’s language education sector.

Over 300 delegates are expected to attend the 2020 Conference, including owners, directors, program managers, marketing staff and academic leaders from Canadian public and private language education programs; provincial and federal government officials; NGOs; invited international guests; Canadian Trade Commissioners; and other key influencers in the field of international education.

Details: 

  • 13th Annual Conference
  • The Future in Focus
  • February 23 – 26, 2020
  • Sheraton Wall Centre Hotel, Vancouver, BC

The 2020 Conference will take place in beautiful Vancouver B.C. With its scenic views, mild climate and friendly people, Vancouver is known around the world as a top-choice tourism and study destination. Vancouver is also one of the most ethnically and linguistically diverse cities in Canada with 52 percent of the population speaking a first language other than English. 

We look forward to seeing you in Vancouver in 2020! 

The Future is Green! 

Responding to the imperative to reduce our sector’s climate footprint, Languages Canada is committed to reducing the environmental impact of our Annual Conference. In 2020 we will eliminate printed conference programs and delegate kits and will be encouraging all participants to access the program and conference information via our conference app. Conference participants will also be encouraged to offset their carbon emissions for their travel to Vancouver.

For more information on previous editions of the Languages Canada Conference, visit our page from last years conference.

IMPORTANT LINKS

             


DIAMOND SPONSOR / COMMANDITAIRE DIAMANT


GOLD SPONSORS / COMMANDITAIRES DE NIVEAU OR


SILVER SPONSORS / COMMANDITAIRES ARGENT


BRONZE SPONSORS / COMMANDITAIRES BRONZE

             


Watch the video from our 10th anniversary conference!


From 1592 to 1774, The Spaniards cruised by as part of their exploration of Canada's west coast. Spain claimed the west coast of North America by virtue of the Treaty of Tordesillas, which occurred in 1494. Their presence is still felt today even though the Spanish felt Friendly Cove at the entrance to Nootka Sound was a better place for a town. The City of Vancouver has a number of streets named after Spaniards: Cordova, Cardero, Valdez and Narvaez.

In 1792, Captain George Vancouver arrived. He spent one day, which is long enough to discover the Spanish had already claimed the place and headed off again. During that day, British Captain Vancouver met with Spanish captains Valdez and Galiano and one of Vancouver's best beaches, Spanish Banks is named for the meeting place. That's also the same reason English Bay got its name. Note however, that the Bay is bigger than the Banks and there are a ton more streets in Vancouver named after the British. (There is a Vancouver Street but confusingly, it's in the suburb of New Westminster!)

In 1808, Simon Fraser, an explorer and fur trader, arrived following an overland route from Eastern Canada by a river he thought was the Columbia. Even though he was wrong about his travel plan, the river was still named for him.

Although a very small percentage of Vancouver’s current population is comprised of First Nations people, the culture of the region’s aboriginal people permeates the city — from towering totem poles located throughout public green spaces to contemporary aboriginal art galleries located in downtown, Gastown and on Granville Island. Spend the day perusing historical artifacts and authentic artwork at the UBC Museum of Anthropology or view the extensive collection of artwork, carvings and jewelry at the Bill Reid Gallery of Northwest Coast Art.

[Text pulled from the tourismvancouver.com website]

By continuing to use our site, you consent to the processing of cookies, user data (location information, type and version of the OS, the type and version of the browser, the type of device and the resolution of its screen, the source of where the user came from, from which site or for what advertisement, language OS and Browser, which pages are opened and to which buttons the user presses, ip-address) for the purpose of site functioning, retargeting and statistical surveys and reviews. 

Le congrès annuel de Langues Canada se veut un lieu de rencontre pour nos programmes membres – publics, privés, français et anglais – et partenaires et intervenants canadiens et internationaux du domaine de l’éducation, qui viennent tisser des liens, partager, apprendre et collaborer pour traiter d’enjeux pertinents, relevant du secteur de l’enseignement des langues au Canada.

On s’attend à ce que le congrès annuel de 2020 attire plus de 300 délégués, dont des propriétaires, des directeurs, des gestionnaires de programmes, du personnel de marketing, des dirigeants universitaires de programmes canadiens de langues publics et privés, des représentants des gouvernements provinciaux et fédéral, du personnel d’organisations non gouvernementales, des invités internationaux, des délégués commerciaux canadiens et d’autres personnes clés influentes dans le domaine de l’éducation internationale.

Renseignements

  • 13e congrès annuel
  • L’avenir en point de mire
  • Du 23 au 26 février 2020
  • Hôtel Sheraton Wall Centre, Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique

Le congrès de 2020 se déroulera dans la magnifique ville de Vancouver, en Colombie‑Britannique. Grâce à ses paysages pittoresques, son doux climat et la convivialité de ses habitants, Vancouver est reconnu dans le monde entier comme destination de tourisme et d’étude de premier choix. Vancouver est aussi l’une des villes les plus diversifiées au Canada, aux points de vue ethnique et linguistique, alors que la langue maternelle de 52 % de la population est autre que l’anglais. 

Au plaisir de vous voir à Vancouver en 2020!

L’avenir est vert!

Face à l’impératif de réduction de l’empreinte climatique de notre secteur, Langues Canada s’engage à diminuer l’impact environnemental de son congrès annuel. En 2020, nous supprimerons l’impression du programme du congrès et de la documentation à l’intention des délégués et encouragerons tous les participants à avoir accès au programme et aux renseignements sur le congrès par l’intermédiaire de son appli. Les participants au congrès seront aussi incités à compenser les émissions de carbone de leur voyage à Vancouver.

Pour plus de renseignements sur les éditions précédentes du congrès de Langues Canada, veuillez visiter notre page de congrès de l’année dernière.

LIENS IMPORTANTS

          


DIAMOND SPONSOR / COMMANDITAIRE DIAMANT


GOLD SPONSOR / COMMANDITAIRE OR


SILVER SPONSORS / COMMANDITAIRES ARGENT


BRONZE SPONSORS / COMMANDITAIRES BRONZE

          


Regardez la vidéo du congrès de notre 10e anniversaire à Toronto! 


De l’an 1592 à 1774, les Espagnols ont croisé la côte Ouest dans le cadre de leur exploration du Canada. L’Espagne a revendiqué la côte Ouest de l’Amérique du Nord en vertu du Traité de Tordesillas, en 1494. Ils y ont laissé leur empreinte, même s’ils croyaient que Friendly Cove à l’entrée de Nootka Sound s’agissait d’un meilleur endroit où établir un village. La ville de Vancouver a bon nombre de rues portant des noms espagnols, tels que : Cordova, Cardero, Valdez et Narvaez. 

En 1792, le capitaine George Vancouver arriva et y resta un seul jour, soit assez longtemps pour découvrir que les Espagnols avaient déjà revendiqué le territoire. Lors de cette journée, le capitaine britannique Vancouver a rencontré les capitaines espagnols Valdez et Galiano sur l’une des plages de Vancouver les plus fréquentées, Spanish Banks, nommé selon cette rencontre. English Bay a aussi hérité de son nom de la même façon. Toutefois, il faut noter que la baie est plus vaste que Spanish Banks et que les rues portent beaucoup plus de noms britanniques. (Il y a la rue Vancouver mais drôlement, elle se situe en banlieue de New Westminster!)  

En 1808, Simon Fraser, un commerçant de fourrures et explorateur, arriva par voie terrestre de l’Est canadien par le biais d’un fleuve qu’il croyait être le Columbia. Même s’il avait tort, le fleuve porte son nom.   

Bien qu’ils ne composent aujourd’hui qu’un petit pourcentage de la population de Vancouver, les cultures des Premières Nations sont omniprésentes dans la ville.  Des mâts totémiques gigantesques situés dans les parcs et espaces verts aux galeries d’art contemporain Autochtone au centre-ville, Gastown et sur l’île Granville. Passez la journée à étudier des artefacts historiques et des œuvres d’art authentiques à l’UBC Museum of Anthropology ou allez visiter la vaste collection d’objets d’arts, de sculptures et de bijoux à la galerie Bill Reid Gallery of Northwest Coast Art.  

[Trad. Libre. Texte tiré du site web tourismvancouver.com]