The Global Competency Certificate

The GCC is a complementary tool to traditional language courses. It is an innovative blended educational program, with engaging videos and opportunities for global peer interaction, before they arrive, while they are in Canada and after they go back home. It is a way to provide improved intercultural learning and cross-cultural adjustment training to increasingly diverse and internationally mobile students/participants. As such, it reduces stereotypes and prejudice and stimulates intercultural dialogue in Canada or any country in the world partnered with Sentio, much needed skills in today’s world.


GCC BENEFITS

•     Learners connect to a global cohort of peers before, during and after their experience in a new cultural environment.
•     Those who support the learners in their overall experience develop a common language with learners around intercultural topics and navigating culture (e.g. are you going through a cultural surprise, irritation, or shock?), aiding any challenges a learner might go through.
•     The online environment provides continuity and support throughout the learning journey (before, during, and after an intercultural experience). 
•     Learners can absorb content at their own pace and revisit previous content.
•     By addressing various learning styles, we meet learners where they are. 

Learn more about the GCC through this video


Upon signing the licensing agreement with Sentio Global Network, Languages Canada members will receive:

- One FREE demo account per institution

- One FREE facilitator account and one FREE facilitator training (valued at $125 USD)

Once the Facilitator has been identified, please provide his/her contact details using the attached Excel spreadsheet and send it to GCC@languagescanada.ca


"We sincerely believe this partnership will benefit all levels of second language education in the country. Students will benefit from training that will allow them to better understand and integrate themselves into their environment. Schools will receive additional training. And Languages Canada wins a partner. " -- Gonzalo Peralta, LC Executive Director 

“All too often, second language education is limited to a conventional teaching experience in class. Language learning and development of global competence are two sides of the same coin. Thanks to this partnership, tens of thousands of students coming into Canada can better adapt to the new cultural environment in which they find themselves and thus perform better in class and overall in their experience abroad”. -- Bert Vercamer, General Manager of Sentio

By continuing to use our site, you consent to the processing of cookies, user data (location information, type and version of the OS, the type and version of the browser, the type of device and the resolution of its screen, the source of where the user came from, from which site or for what advertisement, language OS and Browser, which pages are opened and to which buttons the user presses, ip-address) for the purpose of site functioning, retargeting and statistical surveys and reviews. 


Le Certificat de compétence globale

Le Certificat de compétence globale (CCG) est une formation complémentaire aux cours de langues traditionnels. Il s’agit d’un programme éducatif, dans lequel l’étudiant a accès à des vidéos interactives et a l’opportunité d’interagir avec ses pairs avant son arrivée, pendant son séjour au Canada et après son départ. Cette formation vise à instruire les étudiants étrangers sur la culture sous-jacente à leur apprentissage au Canada ou ailleurs dans le monde, là où Sentio établit des partenariats.

disponible seulement en anglais.


Les nombreux avantages du CCG

•   Les apprenants peuvent être en lien avec leurs pairs avant, pendant et après leur expérience dans un nouvel environnement culturel.
•   Ceux qui soutiennent les apprenants dans leur expérience développent une langue commune sur des sujets interculturels tel que le changement de culture (choc culturel, nouvelles émotions générées par le changement de culture, etc.)
•    L’environnement en ligne offre un support continuel à l’apprenant et ce, dans toutes les phases de son expérience d’apprentissage.
•   Les apprenants peuvent assimiler le contenu à leur propre rythme et peuvent revoir les leçons précédentes.
•   En utilisant les différents styles d’apprentissage, nous nous assurons que les apprenants soient confortables dans leur approche.
 

Regardez cette vidéo pour en savoir plus sur le CCG (disponible seulement en anglais)


À la signature de l’entente avec Sentio Global Network, les membres de Langues Canada recevront:

- un compte GRATUIT de démonstration par insitution

-un compte GRATUIT  pour le facilitateur (d’une valeur de 95 $ US) et une formation gratuite pour le facilitateur (d’une valeur de 125 $ US )

Lorsqu'un facilitateur a été identifié, merci de fournir ses coordonnées en remplissant le tableau Excel ci-joint et le retourner à GCC@languagescanada.ca


« Nous croyons sincèrement que ce partenariat va bénéficier à tous les paliers de l’éducation des langues secondes au pays. Les étudiants pourront profiter d’une formation leur permettant de mieux comprendre et s’intégrer dans leur milieu. Les écoles bénéficieront d’une formation supplémentaire. Et Langues Canada gagne un partenaire. » -- Gonzalo Peralta, directeur général de LC 

« Trop souvent, l’enseignement des langues secondes se limite à une formation formelle en classe.  Grâce à ce partenariat, des dizaines de milliers d’étudiants canadiens pourront plus rapidement comprendre leur milieu de vie et mieux s’y intégrer. »-- Bert Vercamer, Directeur des innovations logicielles chez Sentio